Toll Free: 1-888-759-2665Backup: 1-888-740-1958 
Miami Heat

Miami Heat Betting Odds

You are here

Go to Miami Heat Schedule

The Heat is a professional basketball team based out of Miami. They are part of the Eastern Conference Southeast Division, and they play their games at American Airlines Arena.

Miami Heat Brief History

This team began its history back in 1988 as an NBA expansion franchise.

Their first years in the league were marked by mediocre performances. That changed during the 1990s after Pat Riley got named team president.

Under Riley, they acquired Alonzo Mourning and Tim Hardaway, allowing the Heat to turn into a playoffs team.

Hardaway and Mourning will eventually lead the team to 4 division titles, but the franchise went back to struggling times after their departure in 2001 and 2002.

As a result of this, Miami entered a rebuilding period, acquiring notable players Dwyane Wade and Shaquille O’Neal.

And, with a very capable roster, this franchise managed to make it to the NBA Finals in 2006, leading them to acquire their first-ever NBA championship title.

A few years later, the team was rebuilding again, and this time they acquired another two high-profile players: LeBron James and Chris Bosh, creating the “Big Three” of Miami, along with Wade.

With the help of these 3 superstars, the team went on to win two more NBA titles in 2012 and 2013.

Skybook offers the best Miami Heat betting odds, register now at and get into the most exciting NBA betting action with the best basketball lines!

Miami Heat Interesting Facts

  1. The Heat holds the third-longest winning streak in the league, having won 27 matches in a row during the 2012-13 season.
  2. During a controversial match 5 of the 2006 NBA Finals, which the Heat won 101-100, Wade managed to shot more free throws than the entire Mavericks team combined.

Miami Heat Awards and Accomplishments:

  • Championships: 3 (2006, 2012, 2013)
  • Conference titles: 5 (2006, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014)
  • Division titles: 13 (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2018)

Miami Heat Hall of Famers and Famous Players

Here’s a list of the top 3 Hall of Famers for the Miami Heat:

Alonzo Mourning: He was a very accomplished defenseman, which earned him the NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award twice.

  • 11 seasons with the Heat, 7 times All-Star, averaged 16 points per game
  • Basketball Hall of Fame: Inducted in 2014

Shaquille O’Neal: a 4-time NBA champion, he got one his titles while playing with the Heat in 2006.

  • 4 seasons with the Heat, 1-time MVP, 3 times All-Star, averaged 19 points per game
  • Basketball Hall of Fame: Inducted in 2016
  • College Basketball Hall of Fame: Inducted in 2014

Miami Heat Rivalries

The Heat holds rivalries with 6 NBA franchises: The Knicks, the Bulls, the Magic, the Celtics, the Pacers, and the Mavericks.

New York Knicks

This is a rivalry that resulted from the two teams facing each other in four consecutive postseason series, from 1997 to 2000.

These series were quite fierce, and proof of that is that they lasted for seven games each.

Chicago Bulls

This rivalry started during the 1990s, Michael Jordan’s decade of dominance.

During this period, the Heat was eliminated 3 times by the Bulls, with Chicago getting the title each one of those seasons.

When Jordan retired, the rivalry cooled, but it got ignited back again when the two teams faced at the 2006 NBA playoffs.

And it continued to grow with the emergence of Derrick Rose and the re-signing of Dwyane Wade.

Orlando Magic

This is an intra-state rivalry known as the Sunshine State rivalry.

The rivalry was intensified thanks to high-caliber players on both teams such as Tim Hardaway and Alonzo Mourning for the Heat, and Penny Hardaway and Shaquille O’Neal for the Magic.

And, this clash continued with the emergence of Dwight Howard and the Heat acquiring LeBron James.

However, when Howard departed to the Lakers, in 2012, the rivalry softened.

Boston Celtics

The first time these teams faced each other was at the 2010 NBA Playoffs, with Boston taking down Miami in four games.

And, things got really intense when LeBron arrived in the team, as both he and Wade expressed their disdain for the Boston franchise.

Indiana Pacers

It was the 2012 NBA Playoffs that triggered this rivalry. The Pacers were facing the Heat at the Eastern Conference Semifinals, with the Heat taking the series 4-2.

This meeting ignited a fierce battle on and off the field by the players of both teams.

And, even though things got quiet for a while, the rivalry intensified once again during the 2014 NBA Playoffs.

The Heat, with the “Big Three,” would eventually eliminate the Pacers 4 games to 2, allowing them to advance to their fourth consecutive NBA Finals.

Dallas Mavericks

This rivalry began during the 2006 NBA Finals, with Shaq and Wade commanding the Heat, and the Mavs headed by Dirk Nowitzki.

The Heat went on to win the series, on their way to the first championship title for the Miami franchise.

And, although it’s been a while since these teams met at the playoffs, the rivalry is still on, as Mavericks owner Mark Cuban continues to express his extreme personal dislike for the Heat.

Sign up with now and get the best Heat odds! Call us now at 1-888-759-2665, to get an amazing deposit bonus.

NBA Live Lines

Live Lines Menu
No Live Lines available to print in this moment.