Toll Free: 1-888-759-2665Backup: 1-888-740-1958 

2021 Preakness Stakes Betting Odds

Preakness Stakes 2020 Odds


Bet on Horses in 3 Easy Steps







Preakness Stakes Betting

Preakness Stakes
Skybook Racebook online horse racing betting on Preakness Stakes, the second leg of the famous Triple Crown. Bet on the Preakness Stakes, or one of the other Triple Crown races, the Kentucky Derby or Belmont Stakes, at Skybook's secure racebook. Add an element of excitement to the already thrilling world of horse racing by placing a wager on the Preakness.

Bet on the Preakness Stakes

About the Preakness Stakes
The Preakness Stakes is the second and shortest leg in the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing. The Preakness Stakes is a classic 1 3/16 mile (1.91 km) horse race for three-year-old thoroughbreds, held on the third Saturday in May of each year at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. Colts and geldings carry 126 pounds (57 kg), while fillies carry 121 lb (55 kg).

Preakness Stakes History
The first Preakness drew seven starters. John Chamberlain's horse, Survivor, won by ten lengths—the largest margin of victory until 2004. In 2006, Kentucky Derby winner and Preakness favorite Barbaro broke three bones in his leg during the race overshadowing the win by Bernardini.

The leading Preakness winning jockeys are:

  • Eddie Arcaro: 6 - including 2 consecutive wins in 1950-51
  • Pat Day: 5 - including 3 consecutive wins in 1994-96
  • George Barbee, Bill Hartack and Lloyd Hughes: 3

The speed record for the current 1 3/16 miles (1.91 km) Preakness Stakes is 1 minute 53 2/5 seconds. This record was set by Tank's Prospect in 1985 and equaled by Louis Quatorze in 1996. Smarty Jones set the record victory margin of 11 1/2 lengths in 2004.